Erik Deutsch – Falling Flowers


Category: Tag:


Erik Deutsch: keys
Mike McGinnis: saxophone, clarinet
Brian Drye: trombone
Avi Bortnick: guitar
Jesse Murphy: bass
Tony Mason: drums and percussion
with Victoria Reed: vocal, Scott Metzger: lead guitar, Andy Thorn: banjo
Produced by Erik Deutsch / Executive Producers: Mike Seay, Jim Brooks, and Erik Deutsch / Recorded by Bryce Goggin with Adam Sachs at Trout Recording – Brooklyn, NY / Mixed by Jeff Hill at the Bass Station – Brooklyn, NY / Mastered by Kevin Blackler at Blacker Mastering – Brooklyn, NY / Design by Matt Welsh at Killdisco Design / Cover photo by Jennifer Sosa

Leftover Salmon keyboardist Erik Deutsch will release a new solo album Falling Flowers through LoHi Records on September 14, 2018. An animated video the record’s lead single and title track featuring vocals by Deutsch’s wife Victoria Reed can be viewed below.

Deutsch worked with a core band composed of trombonist Brian Drye, guitarist Avi Bortnick, drummer Tony Mason, bassist Jesse Murphy and saxophonist/clarinet player Mike McGinnis at Trout Recording in Brooklyn. Sessions were assisted by engineers Bryce Goggin and Adam Sachs and in addition to Reed, other guests appearing on the record include guitarist Scott Metzger and Deutsch’s LoS bandmate, banjo player Andy Thorn.

“I wanted a studio with an analog board and I wanted great drum tones,” Deutsch stated. “I needed a place with a good enough piano, not the best piano, but a good enough piano … Bryce is a recording genius, he’s made a lot of cool records there in a lot of different genres. He’s fast, his gear works, his drum sounds are amazing, there’s a lot of bleed so it’s got that vibe — I wanted to make the record feel like when we play live and have that energy, and I think we accomplished that.”

Directed by Josh Clark, watch the animated video for the single “Falling Flowers” here: